Useful Information

Family Mediation Video showing how Mediation Works from the Family Mediators Association  

 

 

 

Domestic Violence National Numbers 

 

Refuge 24 hour National Freephone for Women and Children: 0808 2000 247 / www.refuge.org.uk

 

National Centre for Domestic Violence: 0844 8044 999 / www.ncdv.org.uk

 

National LGBT Domestic Abuse Helpline: 0800 999 5428 / www.brokenrainbow.org.uk

 

Women’ s Aid: 0808 2000 247 / www.womensaid.org.uk

 

Men’s Advice Line: 0808 801 0327 / www.mensadviceline.org.uk

 

 

General Support 

 

Samaritans: 0845 7909 090 / www.samaritans.org.uk

 

Rape Crisis: 0808 802 9999 / www.rapecrisis.org.uk

 

Shelter: 0808 800 4444 / www.shelter.org.uk

 

Victim Support: 0845 3030 900 / www.victimsupport.org.uk

 

Crimestoppers: 0800 555 111 / www.crimestoppers-uk.org

 

The British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy (BACP): 01455 883300 / www.itsgoodtotalk.org.uk

 

Community Legal Service Direct: 0845 345 4 345 / www.clsdirect.org.uk

 

Rights of Women: 020 7251 6577 / www.rightsofwomen.org.uk

 

 

Support for Children and Young People 

 

Childline: 0800 1111 / www.childline.org.uk

 

NSPCC: 0808 800 5000 / www.nspcc.org.uk

 

Get Connected (16-25 year olds): 0808 808 4994 / www.getconnected.org.uk

 

 

Support for Men

 

Men’s Advice Line (for men experiencing domestic violence): 01823 334244 / www.mankind.org.uk

 

 

Support for Women and Children from Minority Ethnic Communities

 

Foreign and Commonwealth Office Forced Marriage Unit: 020 7008 0151 / www.gov.uk/forced-marriage

 

Refugee Council: 020 7346 6777 / www.refugeecouncil.org.uk

 

Immigration Advice Service: 020 7357 6917 / www.iasservices.org.uk

 

Asylum Aid: 020 7247 8741/ www.asylum.org.uk

 

Southall Black Sister: 020 8571 9595 / www.southallblacksisters.org.uk

 

Muslim Community Helpline: 020 8904 8193 / 020 8908 6715 / www.muslimcommunityhelpline.org.uk

 

Jewish Women’s Aid Helpline: 0800 59 12 03 / www.jwa.org.uk

 

Chinese Information and Advice Centre: 020 7692 3697 / www.ciac.co.uk

 

 

Other Support

 

National Association of Child Contact Centres: 0845 4500 280 / www.naccc.org.uk/find-a-centre

 

Network for Surviving Stalking:0808 802 0300 www.nss.org.u

 

National Stalking Helpline: 0808 802 0300 / www.stalkinghelpline.org

 

Women and Girls’ Network: 0808 801 0660www.wgn.org.uk

 

Nursing Home Abuse Guide:  www.nursinghomeabuseguide.org

 

National Association for People Abused in Childhood: 0808 801 0331www.napac.org.uk

 

Advocacy After Fatal Domestic Violence (for bereaved friends and family): www.aafda.org.uk

 

Mothers Apart from Their Children: 0808 800 2222 / www.matchmothers.org

 

Mind is the leading mental health charity in the UK: 0300 123 3393 / www.mind.org.uk

 

Young Minds is a charity committed to the mental health of children and young people. Parents Helpline: 0808 802 5544 / www.youngminds.org.uk

 

ADFAM offers support and advice for families affected by drugs and alcohol issues. www.adfam.org.uk

 

 

Support for Single / Separated Parents and Grandparents

 

Gingerbread provides practical support and expert advice for single parents: 0800 802 0925 / www.gingerbread.org.uk

 

Grandparents Plus champion the wider family who care for children:0300 123 7015 / www.grandparentsplus.org.uk

 

OnePlusOne is a UK charity, which aims to strengthen relationships by helping couples and parents:  www.oneplusone.org.uk

 

OnlyDads provides support for single fathers in an easily accessible way:  www.onlydads.org

 

OnlyMums provides support for single mothers in an easily accessible way:  www.onlymums.org

 

 

Financial Advice and Benefits

 

Benefits Calculator www.gov.uk/benefits-calculators

 

Family Tax Credits www.gov.uk/browse/benefits/tax-credits

 

Child Benefit www.gov.uk/browse/benefits/child

 

Child Maintenance Options www.cmoptions.org/en/calculator

 

Calculate Your Child Maintenance www.gov.uk/calculate-your-child-maintenance

 

Disability Living Allowance www.gov.uk/dla-disability-living-allowance-benefit/overview

 

A-Z Benefits Entitlement www.gov.uk/browse/benefits/entitlement

 

Debt Advice Foundation: FREE Debt Advice on 0800 043 40 50 / www.debtadvicefoundation.org